RSS Feed

I’m Soooo Excited……

Posted on

This won’t seem like much to anyone but me……and it obviously doesn’t take that much to excite me……BUT I FINALLY HAVE FLOWERS on my Four O’Clocks!!! 🙂

Four o’clock flowers are also known as mirabilis jalapa……however, that is not overly important……what is important is that mine finally have started to flower!!

The four o’clock flowers come in a variety of plain, streaked and marbled colors. They are referred to as four o’clock flowers because they open up in the afternoon and close back up in the morning. I love the look and the smell of this flower. I always had them planted at my old house and this year I decided to plant them again……but not until late in the season…….almost too late. These seeds took forever to pop out of the ground, and I’m sure it didn’t help that because of my well-known “impatience” I dug the seeds up a few times just to see if they were ever going to sprout.

Finally starting to sprout on June 28, 2011

Every time I step out my front door I check my plants for flowers. I told my husband the other day that I thought they would flower just in time for the snow to bury them…… 😦  My husband doesn’t really care that much because he thinks I pay more attention to my plants then I do to him……totally not the case.

This morning I took a picture of my four o’clocks as we headed out to soccer…….I was pretty sure they were close to opening, but hadn’t yet……

My four o'clocks this morning September 10, 2011

Looking like the yellow ones might bloom soon.....

……..tonight when we got home I got my surprise…..ONE LONE YELLOW FLOWER!!!! I’M SOOOO EXCITED!!!

So proud.....my lone yellow flower 🙂

The flower is open!! 🙂

The package of seeds said they were yellow, pink and blue so I will have to wait and see if any other colours blossom before winter. 🙂

This is what the flowers look like fully open.....so pretty.....yellow was the first to bloom and yellow is my favourite colour. 🙂

One response »

  1. Pingback: Every Year at the Same Time … « Χώρος του χρήστη Doda

Leave a Reply

