RSS Feed

Grandmas…….

Posted on

Our grandchildren accept us for ourselves, without rebuke or effort to change us, as no one in our entire lives has ever done, not our parents, siblings, spouses, friends – and hardly ever our own grown children.  ~Ruth Goode

Almost everyone I know that is my age-ish (give or take a year or two) is a grandma. Almost all of my friends from back home have at least one grandchild and some have many.

That’s what I’m looking forward to……the day one of my kids announces to me that I am going to be a grandma…….don’t worry, it hasn’t happened yet, and to the best of my knowledge is not happening anytime soon. None of my children are married yet, and I would rather have daughters-in-law and sons-in-law before having grandchildren. I’m not trying to rush anyone into anything just dropping subtle hints…..hint, hint. 🙂

This is how I see me as a Grandma one day.

My husband has been saying for years now that he is looking forward to having grandchildren…..(I have just recently developed the desire to be a grandparent). I think it’s different for him because my youngest child was already 5 years old when we got married. He never had the opportunity to raise babies. I however, raised 4 babies and was just working on getting them all grown up and able to take care of them selves. I wasn’t thinking about more babies, not even in the grand baby form. My youngest child is soon going to be 17, and my oldest 27, so now I’m thinking about it (not from my soon to be 17-year-old though, please and thank you).

This will be my kids reaction to me as a Grandma.....

I think that when I get the opportunity to be a grandma it will be one of the most exciting adventures of my life. Seeing the babies that are an extension of my own kids…..getting to babysit and let the grandkids do whatever they want (within reason), let them eat dessert before meals, play with them and teach them all the things grandmas teach their grandbabies (all the things my mom did with my kids)…….and then send them home with their Mommy’s and Daddy’s. 🙂

A mother becomes a true grandmother the day she stops noticing the terrible things her children do because she is so enchanted with the wonderful things her grandchildren do.  ~Lois Wyse

Yes I will want to wear the "Proud Grandma" shirt

Life can only be better with grandkids……but I will patiently impatiently wait for my turn……

One response »

  1. Pingback: this is why i want to live to be 100 « myjourney2sixty

Leave a Reply

