RSS Feed

Conflicts…..

Posted on

Why can’t people just get along? Have we really become a society where we must walk on eggshells all of the time for fear of hurting someone’s psyche? Have we really become that sensitive?

I have come to the realization that some people can give it out but they can’t take it. Sometimes people even inadvertently hurt other people’s feelings with their comments or actions. My problem with this is how people tend to react to it. I think people should be able to say to someone else…. “I don’t like what you just said or did, please don’t do it again” …..in order for the person who caused the slight to have an opportunity to either apologize for it or not, but if they don’t even know what they did the problem can’t be solved.

I am actually dealing with a situation like this right now. This person has stopped talking to me, grunts in response to questions, avoids being in the same area as me and wont make eye contact when walking towards me. I can only assume I must have said or did something to hurt this person’s feelings….however….they won’t talk to me so how can I find out what the problem is and try to fix it?

I am more than willing to take responsibility for my actions in any situation and apologize for what I have done or said but if people aren’t grown up enough to say what I did how can I know what it was? This situation has been going on for 2 weeks now and has been noticed by others. I was told that it is my responsibility to ask the person what I did to cause them to stop talking to me….but is it my responsibility? I don’t have any issues with the other person, I’m still talking to them, I’m not giving them the silent treatment….is it really up to me to ask what the problem is, only to possibly be told “Nothing, there is no problem”, when that’s obviously not true.

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God. – Matthew 5:9

Is it really my responsibility to act as peace maker every time someone in the adult world gets mad and won’t talk?…..maybe it is. I will take the step and find out what the problem is so it can be fixed.

Leave a Reply

