RSS Feed

Is Santa Real?…..

Posted on

What do you say to your children when they start to question the existence of Santa Claus?

I remember when Santa didn’t make sense to me…..all of the presents from Santa were wrapped in the same paper as the gifts from Mom and Dad. What a coincidence that Santa had the same wrapping paper that my mom had. I needed to know how this was possible so I asked my mom about it and she gave me a very logical explanation for it. Santa didn’t have time to wrap everything before he left the North Pole so she left her wrapping paper and tags out so he could wrap our toys when he got there on Christmas Eve. It sounded possible to me so I continued to believe. Later, as in when I was a bit older, my mom told me that Santa was the spirit of giving and anyone who believed in giving could be Santa. I think it was her way of saying it would one day become my job to be Santa for my own kids.

When my oldest son Ryan started to question if Santa was real or not he was probably about 6 or 7 years old. I told him that I believed in Santa but he could choose to believe or not. I could tell he wasn’t sure about it but he didn’t want to come right out and say he didn’t believe any more. Ryan was a huge fan of The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and wanted everything “Turtles” for Christmas that year. The Turtle Sewer was a fairly expensive toy and I knew when I saw it Ryan would love it so I bought it for him as his Santa gift even though it was more money than I had budgeted for a single present. I could hardly wait to see his face on Christmas morning when he opened it. Well, he certainly did react to the present, but I’m not sure to this day if I was happy about it or a little dismayed about it. He ripped that paper off the box and as soon as he saw what it was he made this announcement….. “Now I know for sure Santa is real……there’s no way you guys could afford to buy this for me!”

Ripping it open

The gift that reinforced belief in Santa

You see what I mean…..happy that he didn’t give up his Santa belief just yet but a little sad that he thought we were too poor to buy it for him.

My kids are now 26, 23, 20 and 16 and even though they are quite well aware of the whole “Santa” deal, they still get a Santa gift along with their gift from us. I’m not sure you ever really stop believing in Santa.

So what do, or did you tell your kids when they started asking about Santa, and what were you told by your parents?

3 responses »

  1. A neighbour kid told Mary Lou and I when I was in Grade 4 . We rushed home to ask Mom and she admitted that they were Santa . I can still remember the disappointment and hurt that I felt . We were country kids [Kent County] and went to a one room school . It is hard to believe that we didn’t find out sooner .

    Reply
    • I think it’s always a bit of a shock when kids finally figure it out. I think mine never wanted to admit what they knew in case it meant fewer presents for them. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pingback: In which I am soaked to the skin by all the backpedalling | CATERPICKLES

Leave a Reply

