RSS Feed

Christmas…..Come and Gone……

Posted on

Another Christmas has come and gone…..

My son Nick came home on Friday to spend Christmas with us and will be staying until Monday. We picked him up at the bus station around supper time, grabbed a bite to eat and then waited for Erika to get off work and go pick her up.

Christmas Eve was busy but it was the first one in a while that I didn’t work…..I did pop into work to see how everyone was doing and it wasn’t nearly as busy as I thought it would be……which was good and bad. Erika had to work until 5pm and her store wasn’t too busy either.

My husband and I spent the day getting last minute odds and ends at the grocery store, doing our traditional gift wrapping at his work, getting the car washed, walking the dogs, searching the city for an onion (after the stores were all closed), ending up borrowing one from my husband’s brother and his wife which resulted in having an unplanned but great Christmas Eve visit with them and their puppies. After our visit we came home and I cut my husbands hair, (and tried to fix mine from the haircut I had gotten earlier in the day)…….and then we waited for Santa.

The kids watched “Elf” while waiting…..

Shana and Erika snuggled up on one couch……Emma watched a bit with them, and Nick had the love seat.

Waiting for Santa used to be much easier when the kids went to bed before I did, now I’m in bed long before they are. I know they all “know about Santa” but I still didn’t want them to see their filled stockings before morning, I’m weird like that. The great thing about going to bed before the kids is I also wake up before them……mostly due to the dogs wanting out, but I’m still awake first so stockings got filled at 4:30 this morning. I did manage to go back to bed for a little while.

The first one up this morning……besides me……was Nick. Some things never change. It was killing him to have to wait for the girls to wake up to start opening presents. He also had to sit through them opening everything in their stockings before any presents could be opened (everything in their stockings gets wrapped, so it can be a bit time consuming). Emma was a little bored waiting too.

Erika finally got up around 8:30 am followed by Shana shortly afterwards.

Present time…..much to Nick’s delight.

My son Ryan and his girlfriend Whitney came over in the afternoon and we opened more presents.

Our turkey seemed to take forever to cook but it was worth the wait……best tasting turkey and stuffing we have ever had……just my own humble opinion. We chased it down with raspberry cheese cake…….mmmmmm.

After a scrumptious dinner Nick and Shana went out to visit friends of theirs……not the same friends, Ryan and Whitney went home shortly after 7pm and poor Erika is just waiting for us to go to bed so she can play her new Sims game on the Xbox.

 

Having all of my family home for Christmas is what I enjoyed most about today, the food and the presents were nice but my husband and kids are what make it special for me……..just 365 more days now until next Christmas!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

