RSS Feed

A Great Start to 2012…..

Posted on

Today is the first day of 2012!!

Where did 2011 go and how did it disappear so quickly? I will probably be saying the same thing on January 1, 2013. People always say the older you get the faster time goes……they are correct.

If today is any kind of indication I think 2012 will be a good year. 🙂

I saw the New Year in while watching TV with my husband. I don’t normally stay up past midnight regardless of it marking the beginning of a new year but my youngest daughter was at her friends New Years Eve party and she didn’t take her key with her. We didn’t want to go to bed and leave the door unlocked and we didn’t want to lock it and go to bed only to have her ring the doorbell and wake us when she got home so we opted for staying up and waiting for her until shortly after 1:00am.

Thanks to my husband getting up to let the dogs out this morning I slept in until 9:30am and then spent the rest of the day lounging around in my pyjamas. Ok, that’s not quite true, I did get dressed to take the dogs for their walk and then changed into my pyjamas when I got back home, and then sat around watching TV and playing on my laptop for the rest of the day.

We would normally cook a ham for New Years Day dinner but my husband and I searched every grocery store in this city and there wasn’t a ham to be found anywhere, so we “settled” for turkey again. I am certainly not complaining, I love turkey.

Tiny Tom ready to become dinner.

We popped “Tiny Tom” into the oven shortly after 1:00pm and while he was cooking my husband made dessert. That’s right, my husband made banana cream pie for us to have with our dinner today. Yesterday we couldn’t decide what we might want for dessert with our dinner but my husband thought he might like to have banana cream pie like his mom used to make. I have never made banana cream pie so we bought the necessary ingredients and he put his cooking skills to work and made us a scrumptious pie.

Adding the banana slices to the top of the pie.

The finished product.

Hehehe now that we know he can make banana cream pie he’ll be on the hook for it more often. 🙂

Cooked to perfection.

Tom was good and ready to eat by 4:30 so we had an early dinner and then the girls and I did the dishes, of which there were many. After clean up I took a little nap and then spent the rest of the evening just relaxing with my husband and watching “The Mentalist – Red John Marathon”.

This has been my idea of a great start to the New Year!

Leave a Reply

