RSS Feed

Walk or Hike

Posted on

My husband and I have been enjoying our weekend trail walks, it’s nice to spend some time together without kids or dogs every once in a while.

We had such a great walk on Saturday we decided to find a different trail and do another walk on Sunday, so we hopped in the car and drove off to find a new trail to explore…..we found Starkey Hill.

Starkey Hill reminded me of back home, not just because of the name but it was a hilly hike through the woods, much like where I grew up and spent a good part of my adult life.

Who knew the name would be so accurate, Starkey hill is definitely a hill. The hike was great, quite the workout but we weren’t really prepared for this type of walk.  First of all it was through the woods on a dampish day….mosquito heaven. Secondly it was quite the climb and hot….no water with us. Thirdly and maybe most important, I didn’t have the correct footwear…..that’s right, I was wearing my flip-flops. My flip-flops are perfect footwear for walking on nice flat terrain but not so much for up and down hills on a trail through the woods where tree roots are sticking up all over the place. I know that because the end of my flip-flop got caught on a tree root and….you guessed it….down I went. It wouldn’t have been so bad but of course there was another couple a little ways ahead of us walking their dogs so when I fell the earth must have shaken because they quickly turned around to see what happened….embarrassing! Well I popped up quickly, brushed myself off and tried to pretend nothing had happened…but there were 3 witnesses and much knee scraping so I can’t deny my klutziness.

I did manage to take a few pictures even though my husband kept trying to hurry me along because every time we stopped we were mosquito bait.

 

 

 

 

 

Other than those 3 minor issues the walk hike was great, but I think we will save doing that particular trail again for the fall when it’s not as hot and there are less bugs feasting on us. Hopefully we will find an easier trail next weekend. 🙂

Before the great fall!!

 

Leave a Reply

