RSS Feed

Family Reunion Time

Posted on

It’s the 54th Annual Seymour Family Reunion this weekend, a pretty big deal to my family.

I have missed the last 12 since the last one I attended was in 2000, just 2 weeks before the kids and I moved from New Brunswick to Ontario, prior to that I had not missed a single family reunion celebration.

The reunion was always on the Sunday closest to July 17th, the wedding anniversary of my great grandparents John and Jennie Seymour…the couple responsible for starting this wonderful family. Now it has expanded to two days of celebrations, so today the fun begins.

Since I haven’t been to an annual reunion in the last 12 years I haven’t had the opportunity to meet some of the newest members of the family. I was trying to recall all of the family that I know and while this will mean nothing to most readers it’s a test to me and my knowledge of my extended family on my mom’s side. I will not know everyone who has gotten married or has had children in the past few years so if I leave people out or make a mistake with someone’s name (it has been a while) please don’t be offended…just fill me in. 🙂

John and Jennie Seymour had 5 children…..John, Alma, Barbara, Marion and Olive, they of course married and had families of their own….my cousins.

My Great Uncle John married Margaret and had their daughter Betty. Betty married David and they have two children Pamela and Andrew. Pamela married Michael and they have 2 children Levi and Rachel. I know Andrew got married to Ellen but I am not sure about children.

My Great Aunt Alma married Robert and they had 2 children, Robert John, and Jane. Robert John married Donna and they have two children, Karen and Marten. Jane married Eric and they have two sons Adam and Matthew. That’s where my knowledge of Aunt Alma’s family ends, I assume some of these kids could be married and have children but I don’t know for sure.

My Great Aunt Barbara married Aubrey and they also had two children, Theo and Alma Faye. Theo now goes by Ted and maybe he always did but I only knew him as Theo. I can’t remember who Theo married but I know they have two children, Karen and David. I also don’t remember who Alma was married to but I do remember that they have three sons, Michael, Randy and Stephen. Stephen passed away several years ago. Michael married Duranie and they have 2 children Kyle and Kristin. That’s where my memory and knowledge stops with Aunt Barbara’s family.

My Great Aunt Marion married George and they had 8 children. Their first child Dorothy Jeanne passed away in infancy, they also had John, Keith, Marilyn, Glen, Arnold, Janet and Katharine. I know John married Laura and they have twin sons Brent and Derek. Marilyn married Pasqualino and they have two children, Andrea and Mario. I know Andrea got married but I’m not sure about Mario. Janet married Eldon and they have three children, Jennifer, Angela and Wesley. Jennifer married Jason and they have a son Sean. Angela has two children, Brooks and Anderson and I believe I heard that Wesley has a son, but I am not 100% sure.  Katharine married Carl and they have two children, Martin and Grace. Grace has a son Jackson. I obviously am missing a lot of knowledge about Aunt Marion’s family.

My Grandmother Olive married Andrew and they had 9 children, Barbara, Andrew, Catherine (my mom), John, Gwen, Mary, David, Charles and Jennie Elizabeth who passed away in infancy. Aunt Barbara married Cecil (we call him Uncle Mick) and they have four children, Charles, Laura, Kathleen and Ken. Charles married Nicole and they have a son Kristofor. Laura married Bruce and they have 2 daughters, Theresa and Angela. Theresa married Jeff and they have a daughter Reagan. Angela has two children, Emma and Wyatt. Kathleen (Kathy) has 2 children Jennifer and Jarrod. Uncle Andrew married Patricia who passed away a few years ago. They have 3 sons, Michael, Mark and Jeffrey. Michael has a son Eric, Mark has three step children and Jeff has 3 daughters, Hannah, Jessica and Bridget, Hannah passed away a few years ago. My mom Catherine married….my dad Edwin. 🙂 They have 4 children…..me and my siblings. There is Edwin, Susan, Me and Andrew. My brother Edwin married Elizabeth and they have 2 children, Elizabeth’s daughter Christina and their daughter Maggie May. My sister Susan married Brad and they have 2 children Jamie and Miranda. Jamie is married to Cheryl. I am married to Chris and we have four children (his step children), Ryan, Shana, Nicholas and Erika. My brother Andrew is married to Patricia and they have two daughters Jillian and Abby. Uncle John married Simone and they have 2 children, Nancy and Richard. Aunt Gwen married Ken and they have three children, Ken’s daughter Lynn, and their sons Ken and Stephen. Lynn has two sons Matthew and Travis, Stephen married Katherine and they have 3 children  Chloe, Ryleigh and Sawyer. Aunt Mary married Ernest and they have two sons Ernest and Kevin. Uncle David married Mary Ann, David passed away six years ago. They have three children, Dan, Tom and Andrea. Dan is married to Kelly, Tom is married to Laura and they have a new baby girl Alice. Andrea  to John Paul and they have 3 children, Lauren, Rylie and Willow. This is my home branch of the family, so to speak, with my first cousins and their children and I clearly don’t even know all of them.

I’m sure I forgot to include some family and for that I apologize. I also know that there have been divorces, separations, re-marriages and new marriages, partners and other relationships and there are for sure step-kids that I don’t know about and there are new babies that I haven’t had the pleasure of meeting or seeing pictures of but I one day hope to.

To all my Seymour Family descendants that are able to attend the reunion this weekend…Have a great time and enjoy visiting and catching up with everyone including the newest members of this great family.

2 responses »

  1. While searching for information on my family, I came across your page and found this:
    “My Great Aunt Barbara married Aubrey and they also had two children, Theo and Alma Faye. Theo now goes by Ted and maybe he always did but I only knew him as Theo. I can’t remember who Theo married but I know they have two children, Karen and David. I also don’t remember who Alma was married to but I do remember that they have three sons, Michael, Randy and Stephen. Stephen passed away several years ago. Michael married Duranie and they have 2 children Kyle and Kristin. That’s where my memory and knowledge stops with Aunt Barbara’s family.”
    Well, my name is Kristin McQuade and my great grandmother was Barbara Bird. Thought you may want to know the updates from our branch of the Seymour clan.
    We’ve moved to Medicine Hat, Alberta, so unfortunately we haven’t been to the reunion in years. My brother Kyle got married this past September. He is an EMT in Castor, Alberta and his wife is a nurse in Stettler, Alberta. I am currently attending college here in Medicine Hat.
    I’d love to know if you have any information about our heritage.

    Reply
    • Hi Kristen,
      Thanks for the updates on your family. Your dad would remember me….I think :)…..and I met your mom years ago at one of the reunions. When was the last reunion your family attended? My grandmother, Olive always kept us updated on family events etc., I think it’s what the grandmothers do in family’s especially once family’s start to move away. Once she passed away it was harder to keep track of everyone which is why the reunions are a great idea. Hopefully you and your family will get back to one sometime soon, and hopefully so will my family and I.
      It was so nice hearing from you Kristen, please say Hi to your Mom and Dad from me and congrats to Kyle on his wedding.

      Anna

      Reply

Leave a Reply

