RSS Feed

Vacation…Day 6

Posted on

Yesterday was day 6 of my vacation and the best day yet….not just because we did stuff but because it was the first day my husband was on vacation with me. 🙂

Normally when we take vacation in the summer and either never do anything…because we can’t really afford to….or we end up taking Erika to some sporting event of hers, vacation usually revolves around her. Not this year, vacation is still about doing nothing but it’s not about Erika this year…sorry kid.

Yesterday my husband and I did stuff just for us, we got up early and headed out for the day leaving instructions for Erika to take care of the dogs, and find her own way to her physio appointment.

We had planned on leaving by 7:00am but it was closer to 8:00am by the time we got out on the road. First stop was Tim Horton’s but that goes without saying……second stop was The Scenic Caves and Suspension Bridge in Collingwood. The hike to the caves was challenging for a couple of old geezers like us but it was worth it.

This is the sign that greets you at the end of the climb up to the caves….it was the hard part.

This is the sign pointing to a great lookout point.

View from the Indian Council

Amazing view

Another great view

Several more caves and caverns

Once we went through all of the caves and caverns we took the nature trail through the woods, sort of a nice cool down in the shade of the trees.

Once we finished this cool down hike we headed off in the other direction to find the Suspension Bridge. I took some pictures along the way to the next trail. Believe it or not it was a hike downhill to the bridge from where we were…..which means the hike back to the parking lot would be all uphill.

Downhill to the Suspension Bridge

The Bridge

View from the Bridge

Chris on the Bridge

Me on the Bridge

Our selfy on the Bridge

A little Falls at the other end of the bridge

Once you get to the end of the bridge….there is no where to go except back across where you came from.

Another spectacular view from the Bridge

Chris walking back across the Bridge

Once we were off the bridge we had to do the long all uphill walk back to the parking lot. It didn’t help that it was so hot out. Well we did make it back and my husband bought the shirt to show for the efforts.

This is the shirt the Chris bought from the gift shop…..it describes the situation perfectly.

After working up such a sweat hiking all morning we grabbed lunch at Wendy’s and then headed for Wasaga Beach to spend the afternoon cooling off. I think this just might be my favorite beach now…not that I have been to so many beaches but since I’m not a swimmer I totally appreciated how far I could walk out into the water and it was never above my waist. I took some pictures from the shore and yes I took my non waterproof camera out into the water with me to take some pictures to show how far from shore we were and the water was still so shallow.

The water is just to my knees

Some pictures of us on the beach…..my artistic work. 🙂

Drawing in the sand

Almost done…..

Completed. 🙂

Our selfy on the beach.

We packed up around 4:00pm…once we were sufficiently sun burned and took a stroll along the beach shops, made a couple of purchases and then drove back into Collingwood for a little tour along the water front.

This is my favorite picture of the day…My husband with his new hat, drinking his Tim Horton’s coffee and standing on the rocks beside the water. ❤

To end this fantastic day together we had a delicious meal at Kelsey’s. I had the Kickin’ Quesadilla and Chris had the Fire-Grilled Steak…..for dessert he had the Maple Apple Pie and I had the Deep Fried Mars Bar and Ice Cream…to die for.

What a great end to a perfect day…..of course we put on any calories we burned off hiking…..and then some. 🙂

Loving my life.

Leave a Reply

