RSS Feed

Baking Day

Posted on

If all goes according to plan tomorrow all of my children will be home for Thanksgiving dinner along with Ryan’s girlfriend Whitney and possibly Shana’s friend Kristopher. We are starting to move into the larger scale holiday dinners as the kids are getting older. We have a little ways to go yet…..need some grandchildren to add to the mix.

My husband always says Thanksgiving is his favorite holiday of the year because it’s all about the food…..family too……but mostly the food. ๐Ÿ™‚

I don’t normally do much in the way of baking for Thanksgiving, by the time we are finished eating the turkey and all the fixin’s there’s not much room left for the desserts……and our waistlines do not need it either. It’s always been much easier just to buy something from the bakery, I’m a bit lazy. ๐Ÿ™‚

Today I decided to do my own baking…..mostly. I think I got the bake bug after making my apple pie yesterday.

The first thing I made was a marble cake (not from scratch…..a mix). We have 3 October birthday’s to celebrate….Whitney’s was on the 6th, Nick’s is on the 13th and Shana’s is on the 18th. Since they are all going to be here tomorrow we decided that it would be a good idea to celebrate them all together.

Marble Birthday Cake….before the frosting.

 

Birthday cake for all three of the October Birthday kids.

Birthday cake for all three of the October Birthday kids.

After baking the cake I peeled some more apples and got the apple pie ready to bake…..the first one was so good, I’m hoping this one will be too.

Apple Pie

Apple pie finished then on to the raspberry cheesecake. We can’t think of having Thanksgiving dinner without Grandma’s raspberry cheesecake. The recipe is my mother-in-law’s and while it’s probably not as good as hers was I like to think it’s a close second. What I like best about it is it’s a no-bake cheesecake.

No bake cheesecake before the raspberry topping

Raspberry Cheesecake…tradition.

I then made banana bread, only because I had some banana’s that needed to be used up or tossed out and since I was already in bake mode I decided I might as well make something with them.

 

Banana Bread

Last, but by no means least, pumpkin pie from Costco. There is no point in me trying to make a pumpkin pie to compete with how good this pie is. We were first introduced to this great pie when we were at my brother’s house in New Brunswick about 3 weeks ago.

Our Costco Pumpkin Pie

Now clearly we do not need to eat as many desserts as we will have tomorrow but since this is the food holiday a few extra choices are not a bad thing.

We will go back to dieting again on Tuesday. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

