RSS Feed

First Date Anniversary

Posted on

Today is my anniversary, not my wedding anniversary, and not the anniversary of when I started my job, but it’s an important anniversary in the history of my husband and me. Fourteen years ago today my husband and I had our first date. He lived in Guelph Ontario and I lived in Cody’s New Brunswick. No need to let a little thing like distance get in the way of a first date. This first date was the start of our “happily ever after”.

My husband and I met in a chat room on the internet 14 years ago. After several months of chatting he suggested that we should see a movie together sometime. Interesting idea, but difficult to carry out considering the distance between us. I quickly agreed thinking it was a pretty safe bet that it wasn’t that likely that we would both be in the same place at the same time any time soon, We discussed for a while when we might be able to do this and then he said why not today. Oh my gosh,so many crazy thoughts went through my mind. Is he on his way here? Is he already here somewhere? How could we possibly watch a movie together? I wasn’t comprehending what he had in mind at all. Then he said we should both go rent the same movie…..any movie I wanted……and then watch it at the same time while we chatted on our computers. Cool idea except for one little problem, my computer and my television were not in the same room and there was no way I could be in front of both at the same time. Sooo, his next idea was for him to call me and we could talk on the phone while watching the movie. ALARM BELLS went off in my head immediately……give him my phone number? What if he wasn’t the really nice guy he seemed to be in the chat room, but was actually a whacko and then he had my phone number? Well after much thought (about 2 minutes) I decided that if it turned out he was a crazy I would just change my phone number, right or wrong I gave him my number.

We decided on a movie that we could both rent, well I decided and he was kind enough to agree. Message in a Bottle with Kevin Costner was the pick, and he agreed so that was definitely a good sign that he was willing to go along with whatever ideas I had no matter how bad they were.

Once we got our movies rented we agreed on a start time and I waited nervously for his phone call. When the phone rang I answered and it was the beginning of our life together. I didn’t really pay that much attention to the movie playing on my TV but did spend the next several hours getting to know the man who is my husband and my best friend 14 years later.

 

The beautiful Orchid that was sitting on my seat of the car when my husband picked me up after work today.

The beautiful Orchid that was sitting on my seat of the car when my husband picked me up after work today.

 

That first phone call was just the beginning of months and months of long, long phone calls, learning everything there was to learn about each other, and that’s why today is an important date in our history together.

Leave a Reply

